Monday, 19 August 2019

RELEASE BLITZ | Broken Knight by L.J Shen | Out Now!!



BROKEN KNIGHT BANNER.jpg

"Everyone needs to read this book. "

- Harloe Rae, USA Today bestselling author.

Broken Knight, an all new standalone about first loves, betrayal and loss from USA Today bestselling author L.J. Shen, is available now!

IMG_1621.jpg
Not all love stories are written the same way. Ours had torn chapters, missing paragraphs, and a bittersweet ending.
Luna Rexroth is everyone’s favorite wallflower.
Sweet.
Caring.
Charitable.
Quiet.
Fake.
Underneath the meek, tomboy exterior everyone loves (yet pities) is a girl who knows exactly what, and who, she wants—namely, the boy from the treehouse who taught her how to curse in sign language.
Who taught her how to laugh.
To live.
To love.
Knight Cole is everyone’s favorite football hero.
Gorgeous.
Athletic.
Rugged.
Popular.
Liar.
This daredevil hell-raiser could knock you up with his gaze alone, but he only has eyes for the girl across the street: Luna.
But Luna is not who she used to be. She doesn’t need his protection anymore.
When life throws a curveball at All Saints’ golden boy, he’s forced to realize not all knights are heroes.
Sometimes, the greatest love stories flourish in tragedy.

KNIGHT_LIVE_FB.jpg
Download your copy today or read FREE in Kindle Unlimited!
$2.99 for a Limited Time Only
Pre-order the Audio edition now
(Available 8/25)
Amazon Audible: https://amzn.to/2HdgKQH
Amazon Audible WorldWide: http://mybook.to/BrokenKnightAudio
Add to GoodReads: http://bit.ly/2YbCrun

About LJ Shen
L.J. Shen is a USA Today, Washington Post and Amazon #1 Best-selling author of contemporary, New Adult and YA romance. Her books have been sold to nineteen different countries.
She lives in California with her husband, son, cat and eccentric fashion choices, and enjoys good wine, bad reality TV shows and catching sun rays with her lazy cat.

LJShen.jpg








Connect with L.J. Shen
Stay up to date with L.J. Shen by signing up for her mailing list:

Wednesday, 7 August 2019

COVER REVEAL | Broken Knight by L.J Shen

Photo Jun 22, 4 44 34 AM.png


“Not all love stories are written in the same way.

Ours had torn chapters, missing paragraphs, and a bittersweet ending.”

Broken Knight, the highly anticipated new standalone in the All Saints High series from USA Today bestselling author L.J. Shen is coming August 25th, and we have the red-hot cover!


IMG_9194.jpeg

Image preview




Luna Rexroth is everyone’s favorite wallflower.
Sweet.
Caring.
Charitable.
Quiet.
Fake.
See, under the meek, tomboy exterior everyone loves yet pities is a girl who knows exactly what – and who – she wants.
Namely, the boy from the treehouse, who taught her how to curse in sign language.
Who taught her how to laugh.
To live.
To love.
Knight Cole is everyone’s favorite football hero.
Gorgeous.
Athletic.
Jagged.
Popular.
Liar.
See, the daredevil hellraiser could knock you up with his gaze alone, but only has eyes for the girl across the street.
But Luna is not who she used to be. She doesn’t need his protection anymore.
When life throws a curveball at All Saints’ golden boy, he is forced to realize that not all heroes are knights.
Sometimes, the greatest love stories could flourish amidst the worst tragedies.



Add to GoodReads: http://bit.ly/2YbCrun
Sign up here to be notified FIRST when Broken Knight is live: http://bit.ly/2umcYPg
Photography by Andrew M. Gleeson
Model: Orri Helgason


About LJ Shen
L.J. Shen is a USA Today, Washington Post and Amazon #1 Best-selling author of contemporary, New Adult and YA romance. Her books have been sold to nineteen different countries.
She lives in California with her husband, son, cat and eccentric fashion choices, and enjoys good wine, bad reality TV shows and catching sun rays with her lazy cat.

Connect with L.J. Shen
Stay up to date with L.J. Shen by signing up for her mailing list:

REVIEW: Defy by L.J Shen


32027054. sy475 Title: Defy
Series: 0.5 in the Sinners of Saints series
Author: L.J Shen
Publication Date: January 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★
Amazon | Goodreads

Defy is a smutty, insta-love, insta-lust short novella. Defy is a prequel to Vicious (Sinners of Saint #1). It is recommended, but unnecessary, to read Defy before reading Vicious.

My name is Melody Greene, and I have a confession to make.
I slept with my student, a senior in high school.
Multiple times.
I had multiple orgasms.
In multiple positions.
I slept with my student and I enjoyed it.
I slept with my student and I’d do it all over again if I could turn back time.
My name is Melody Greene, and I got kicked out of my position as a teacher and did my walk of shame a la Cersei Lannister from the principal’s office, minutes after said principal threatened to call the cops on me.
My name is Melody Greene, and I did something bad because it made me feel good.
Here is why it was totally worth it.





My Thoughts... 


Okay wow this book blew my socks right off, it was so damn amazing and sexy and steamy and hot! I was expecting something totally different when I first began this book but I am happy to say it blew past those expectations! 


Image result for so amazing gifs

I absolutely adored Mel and Jaime and their chemistry was off the charts HOT. Their sexy scenes were exactly that, sexy and steamy and so damn hot to read. 

Image result for steamy gifs


Jaime was such an alpha though and I was just there for it! And the classroom scenes, oh my they were everything! I kind of wished this was a full length novel because I really adored Jaime and Mel and I wanted more of them. 

Image result for eye fuck sexy gifs

Image result for eye fuck sexy gifs

I loved every single aspect of this book, I absolutely adored Ms. Shen's writing and cannot wait to continue on with more of her books. 



Wednesday, 17 July 2019

REVIEW: The Unhoneymooners by Christina Lauren



42201431Title: The Unhoneymooners
Author: Christina Lauren
Publication Date: May 14, 2019
Rating: ★★☆☆☆
Goodreads | Amazon


Olive is always unlucky: in her career, in love, in…well, everything. Her identical twin sister Ami, on the other hand, is probably the luckiest person in the world. Her meet-cute with her fiancĂ© is something out of a romantic comedy (gag) and she’s managed to finance her entire wedding by winning a series of Internet contests (double gag). Worst of all, she’s forcing Olive to spend the day with her sworn enemy, Ethan, who just happens to be the best man.

Olive braces herself to get through 24 hours of wedding hell before she can return to her comfortable, unlucky life. But when the entire wedding party gets food poisoning from eating bad shellfish, the only people who aren’t affected are Olive and Ethan. And now there’s an all-expenses-paid honeymoon in Hawaii up for grabs.

Putting their mutual hatred aside for the sake of a free vacation, Olive and Ethan head for paradise, determined to avoid each other at all costs. But when Olive runs into her future boss, the little white lie she tells him is suddenly at risk to become a whole lot bigger. She and Ethan now have to pretend to be loving newlyweds, and her luck seems worse than ever. But the weird thing is that she doesn’t mind playing pretend. In fact, she feels kind of... lucky.




My Thoughts... 



I want to start this review by saying that I originally wasn't going to make it, however after thinking about it I thought that my opinion matters too right? so I though why not share what I thought about this immensely popular book that everyone loves... 
Image result for why not gifs



Unfortunately, I did not like this book, especially not as much as everyone else seemed to. I was so excited to dive into this, especially since it contained one of my all time favourite tropes - the enemies to lovers trope. I think the trope was done well however there were other factors that contributed to me disliking the story. 
Related image


The main thing was the main female character! omg did she irritate me. I felt like she was sooo whiny throughout this whole story - well that's my interpretation of her - especially when she would talk about how nothing ever goes right for her and she's so unlucky! like get over yourself giirl. I just didn't like that and it hindered the story for me unfortunately. 
Image result for eye roll gifs



I'm not going to drag this book or this review out because I believe that this book was just not for me but it may be the book for you! 




Thursday, 4 July 2019

July 2019 Releases

July 2 

43620068Obsessed by Aleatha Romig 

Everything changed the night our eyes met across the room. His green gaze upon me prickled my skin with uncustomary warmth while my peek beneath his cuff—of a riot of color on his wrist—sparked my insatiable curiosity. Tall and mysterious, Kader was a man whose secrets I longed to know. 

Little did I realize that the night we met was only the beginning—the beginning to the end of the existence I knew. 

What will happen as his assignment becomes our obsession?

From New York Times bestselling author Aleatha Romig comes a brand-new dark romance bringing us back to the same dangerous underworld as SECRETS. You do not need to read the Web of Sin trilogy to get caught in this new and intriguing saga, Tangled Web. 

OBSESSED is book two of the TANGLED WEB trilogy which began with TWISTED and will conclude with BOUND. 
Have you been Aleatha’d?



July 9 

43540132. sy475 Only Ever You by C.D Reiss

From New York Times bestselling author CD Reiss comes a story of friendship, romance, and growing into a love that was always there.

Rachel knew exactly what turning thirty would be like. She had a plan, after all. First college, then a climb up the professional ladder. Love, marriage, children. All of it was on the schedule.

The cheap Hollywood apartment wasn’t on the list. Neither was the string of heartbreaks. Or the effect her mother’s cancer had on her career.

It’s hard to stay practical and on point when everything takes a left turn.

Enter Sebastian, the nerd across the street. The boy she defended when he couldn’t defend himself. The best friend she promised she’d marry if life didn’t go according to plan.

Not only is he successful, confident, and gorgeous, but he also still has their handwritten marriage contract.

No one goes through with childhood wedding pacts.

That’s crazy.

But their families might just be crazy enough to rent a hall and set a date. All Rachel and Sebastian have to do is fall in love.





One year. Nine events. Nine chances to . . . fall in love?

Weddings. Funerals. Barbecues. New Year's Eve parties. Name the occasion, and Sophie Evans will be there. Well, she has to be there. Sophie works for the local florist, so she can be found at every big event in her small hometown, arranging bouquets and managing family dramas.

Enter Andrew Hart. The son of the fancy new chef in town, Andrew is suddenly required to attend all the same events as Sophie. Entitled, arrogant, preppy Andrew. Sophie just wants to get her job done and finish up her sketches so she can apply to design school. But every time she turns around, there is Andrew, getting in her way and making her life more complicated. Until one day she wonders if maybe complicated isn't so bad after all . . .

Told over the course of one year and following Sophie from event to event, this delightful novel from master of romantic comedy Kasie West shows how love can blossom in unexpected places.
 



42289976Under Currents by Nora Roberts 


For both Zane and Darby, their small town roots hold a terrible secret. Now, decades later, they've come together to build a new life. But will the past set them free or pull them under?

Zane Bigelow grew up in a beautiful, perfectly kept house in North Carolina’s Blue Ridge Mountains. Strangers―and even Zane’s own aunt across the lake―see his parents as a successful surgeon and his stylish wife, making appearances at their children’s ballet recitals and baseball games. Only Zane and his sister know the truth, until one brutal night finally reveals cracks in the facade, and Zane escapes for college without a thought of looking back...

Years later, Zane returns to his hometown determined to reconnect with the place and people that mean so much to him, despite the painful memories. As he resumes life in the colorful town, he meets a gifted landscape artist named Darby, who is on the run from ghosts of her own.

Together they will have to teach each other what it means to face the past, and stand up for the ones they love.



42600149. sy475 Dax by Sawyer Bennett 


The Arizona Vengeance is killing it on the ice. But one player can’t seem to keep his eye on the puck—all thanks to the woman he just married to save her life.
 
“Find your next hockey hero in Sawyer Bennett’s Arizona Vengeance series.”—New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis
 
My name is Dax Monahan and hockey is my passion. And if you want to succeed in this sport you have to bust your ass 24/7. I’ve never had a hard time focusing on my career, but when my past comes knocking, no amount of training can prepare me for what lies on the other side of the door.
 
Regan Miles was always like a sister to me. When a shared tragedy brings us face to face after several years, I’m shocked to see just how much she’s changed. Gone is the shy, awkward little girl that always used to chase me and her brother around. Instead, I’m faced with a gorgeous woman who makes it damn hard to concentrate on anything but her.

Turns out, she’s in trouble, and the only way out is to get married.

I surprise myself when I tell her to marry me. Order her, actually. And most shocking of all, she doesn’t even hesitate before saying yes.
 
So it’s settled. We’re getting hitched and she’s moving to Arizona with me.  All platonic, of course.
 
The catch?
I never knew I’d fall so hard for my best friend’s little sister. 

The Arizona Vengeance series from New York Times bestselling author Sawyer Bennett can be read together or separately



July 14


Just as this nightmare began, I once again find myself bound, destination unknown. However, this time, my kidnapper is the man who shattered my world beyond repair.

Aleksei Popov—Russia’s number one mobster, and the man I was sold to.

His intentions for me are clear—submit, obey him, and call him master—but I won’t surrender. I’m not like the other girls. Whether that’s a blessing or curse, I’ve yet to decide. The problem is, my disobedience intrigues my captor all the more.

When we arrive in Russia, the rules change.

Saint, the man who was once a sinner, is my only salvation. What was forbidden now gives me hope that there is light in the darkness. He will risk everything to set me free.

But behind these opulent walls, things aren’t what they seem, and when the fine line between pleasure and pain begins to blur, only one thing matters—saving my soul.

I will lie.

Cheat.

Steal.

I was once an angel, but now… I’m a fallen saint, ready to inflict my own pain and burn this hellhole to the ground.


July 20 



Would you tell your husband everything?


Every torrid thought?
Every twisted fantasy?
The forbidden images that slink into your mind in your most vulnerable moments?

I shouldn't have. I hesitated to. But I did. 

And my husband? He gave them all to me.












July 23 

45870608. sy475 The Wolf and his wife by Penelope Sky 

Tensions rise and now I have two enemies that want me dead. 

But I've never felt safer. 

My wolf protects me. He cherishes me. And I think he loves me. 

This arranged marriage was detested by us both, but now I look at him with new eyes. 

My husband is strong, smart, and gorgeous. His coffee-colored eyes make me melt. My heart slowly starts to soften for this man and I fall deeper and deeper. 

I fall in love with my husband.





July 25 


44083747. sy475 Cruel Prince by Ashley Jade 


Welcome to their kingdom... 

I never thought I'd step foot in Royal Manor again. 
But five years later, here I am...back to finish my senior year at Royal Hearts Academy.

And forced to face Jace Covington. 
My first friend. First crush. First kiss. 
The one I left behind.

Only—he isn't the same boy I gave my heart to.

This new Jace is as cruel as he is gorgeous.
And he's determined to make my life a living hell. 
Along with the rest of his glorified family and crew of tyrants.

They expect me to worship the ground they walk on like everyone else, but I'd rather eat dirt.

If Jace Covington wants me gone...he'll have to try harder. 
Because I've never been the kind of girl to play by the rules.


WARNING: Royal Hearts Academy is a New Adult/High School series of standalones filled with drama, a touch of angst, and boys who are bad to the bone.
This series is recommended for mature readers due to graphic language and sexual content.



Tuesday, 2 July 2019

Mid Year Book Freak Out Tag

I'm back with another tag, and not just any tag but the most exciting one of the year! I haven't done these tags before so I am excited to see how I felt for the first half of the year.



Best Book of 2019 So Far

39709060. sy475 Starting this off with a bang I guess. But my favourite book of the year for sure goes to Pretty Reckless by L.J Shen. This book was my everything and I will forever cherish it. I won't get into it here because I have a review up already on my blog if you want to know more of my thoughts. But just know that this book owns my heart - it is that good! 










Best Sequel of 2019 So Far

42081751. sy475
For this I'm going to go with Bombshell by Jane Harvey-Berrick. I read the first book in this duo logy last year and loved it so much so of course the sequel was just as good as the first. All these characters are amazing and their pains and struggles are so real, it was such a heartfelt duo logy that everyone should experience. 








New Releases of 2019 you haven't read yet but want to

I hate to say it but there is actually a lot of books I have yet to read. I'm really bad with keeping up with new releases, I get so excited when the get released and I immediately add it to my kindle and tell myself I'll get to it but I case I never do. So I've narrowed it down to my top three books that I was over the moon excited about that I have not yet read. 
42953859. sy475 4004598643904268. sy475


Most Anticipated Release of the Second half of 2019 


44140764. sy475 39709066. sy475 42265183


Obviously I can't just pick one but I narrowed it down to three. These three are my most anticipated books for the rest of the year. 




Biggest Disappointment of 2019 so Far


42201431I hate to say it but it's definitely The Unhoneymooners by Christina Lauren. I was so excited to read it, especially since this book was my first from this author duo. Although, it just didn't hit me the right way like it seemed to have everyone else. Everyone else loved it, there was huge hype over this book when it was first released but I thought it was just okay. 










Biggest surprise of 2019 

Image result for after anna todd
I'm going to go with After by Anna Todd. I was actually surprised that I ended up loving it because all I herd from everyone else was that this book isn't that good and not worth my time but since the movie was coming out or it did come out I decided to just give this book a go and I needed up loving it so much! so definitely a big surprise for me. 







Favourite New Author (Debut or new to you)

Penny Reid is my favourite author even though I've only read one book from her that I recently just finished, but I know that her writing style is amazing and her other books are well loved so I am very excited to get to them!





Newest Fictional Crush 

41450662. sy475 Wolfe Keaton! Nothing more to say. from The Kiss Thief by L.J Shen 







Newest Favourite Character 


24950568Kaitlyn Parker from the Elements of Chemistry series by Penny Reid. I love her she is an amazing character. She's not whiny or stupid she's strong and she knows what she wants albeit innocent and gullible at times I still love her. 






Book that made you Cry 

24663493. sy475 omg Enchant by Rachel Van Dyken definitely made me cry. it made me ugly sob. ahhh it was such a beautiful book and just thinking about it right now is making me tear up a little. 







Book that made you Happy 

43981408. sy475 Soul in Darkness by Wendy Higgins made me happy, especially because of the usage of mythology. I love to read a good mythology embedded book and this was definitely that. 







Most Beautiful book you've bought so far this year (or received) 

30555412. sy475 Definitely Long Shot by Kennedy Ryan. I mean look at that cover and admire the beauty.














Books to Read by the end of 2019

There are so many books I have that I need to read it so i'll narrow it down to my top three books that I really need to get to by the end of this year. 

44752392. sy475 1737331430555412. sy475







Saturday, 29 June 2019

REVIEW: Pretty Reckless by L.J Shen



39709060. sy475 Title: Pretty Reckless
Series: All Saints High book 1
Author: L.J Shen
Publication Date: April 21, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★
Goodreads | Amazon 

From USA Today and Washington Post bestselling author L.J. Shen comes an intense, high school enemies-to-lovers romance with a twist. 

Penn 

They say revenge is a dish best served cold. 
I’d had four years to stew on what Daria Followhill did to me, and now my heart was completely iced. 
I took her first kiss. 
She took the only thing I loved. 
I was poor. 
She was rich. 
The good thing about circumstances? They can change. Fast. 
Now, I’m her parents’ latest shiny project. 
Her housemate. Her tormentor. The captain of the rival football team she hates so much. 
Yeah, baby girl, say it—I’m your foster brother. 
There’s a price to pay for ruining the only good thing in my life, and she’s about to shell out some serious tears. 
Daria Followhill thinks she is THE queen. I’m about to prove to her that she’s nothing but a spoiled princess. 

Daria 

Everyone loves a good old unapologetic punk. 
But being a bitch? Oh, you get slammed for every snarky comment, cynical eye roll, and foot you put in your adversaries’ way. 
The thing about stiletto heels is that they make a hell of a dent when you walk all over the people who try to hurt you. 
In Penn Scully’s case, I pierced his heart until he bled out, then left it in a trash can on a bright summer day. 
Four years ago, he asked me to save all my firsts for him. 
Now he lives across the hall, and I want nothing more than to be his last everything. 
His parting words when he gave me his heart were that nothing in this world is free. 
Now? Now he is making me pay. 



My Thoughts... 

First of all can we all just appreciate this gorgeous cover, I mean its absolutely amazing and I may or may not have just ordered a physical copy to stare at all day long. I mean who can blame me... 




Anyways, aside from the amazing cover, the story inside is perfection. I loved following Daria and Penn through their journey of love and hate and finding themselves. I love Daria and to be honest I loved how bitchy and mean she was. I loved it because I really haven't read many books with a heroine like her, most books either focus on innocent, doe eyed, nice heroines or strong heroines who are caring and loving. and that's great and all but having a character like Daria, who is strong, yet weak, who loves but also hates with a passion and also her bitchiness to others and some of the things she's done I mean wow it was crazy. Having a heroine like her, who is just so complex - I loved it and I want more of it so thank you L.J Shen for giving us an amazing heroine! But there's a reason as to why she does some of the things she does and why she acts like that and we get to find out throughout the book so I don't wanna spoil anything. 
(wow lets all take shots every time I use the word 'love' by the end of it we'll all be so drunk we won't know which way is up or down) 
Related imageRelated image

I also want to touch on her relationship with her parents because that's another important element in the book. without spoiling anything I want to say the dynamic between Daria and her parents felt so real. oh and the fact we even have parents to begin with was something since most books with teens don't seem to have them, but to have them embedded in the story the way it is in this book was just beautiful to read, even though it was heartbreaking at times. I cried reading some of the scenes between Daria and her parents but also with Daria's inner monologue, as well as another very sad and tragic scene that happened - it was just so sad and real and I felt so much empathy towards her. I think she is one of my favourite heroines ever created! I think in this review Daria might have come across as bitchy but I just want to say there is so much more to her than that, she's strong, empathetic, cares for others plus many more attributes - she is a complex character. 
Image result for demi lovato happy and sad gifs



Overall, I pretty much devoured this book. I am so excited to continue on this series with the second book 'Broken Knight' set to release on the 25th of August. And this will be Knight's book - which I am super excited for. 

Image result for long wait gifs

Literally me right now ↑ even though I just finished Pretty Reckless!